Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Emory & Henry Announces 2019-20 Scholar-Athletes Of The Year

Scholar-Athlete of the Year graphic with E&H logo.

EMORY, Va. - The Emory & Henry College Department of Athletics is pleased to announce the scholar-athletes for the 2019-20 academic year. These awards go to the junior or senior on each team with the highest cumulative grade point average (3.0 minimum) as of the fall semester of the academic year.

In all, 15 student-athletes across 18 of the College's intercollegiate sports were honored for their achievements in the classroom.

Traditionally, E&H has announced its scholar-athletes of the year at the Blue & Golden Globes Awards cermony, but with this year's event taking place via social media, the decision was made to split the academic awards into a separate opportunity for recognition.

2019-20 Emory & Henry Athletics
Scholar-Athletes of the Year

Sport      Student-Athlete   Hometown
Baseball   Joe Tolone   Concord, N.C.
Women's Basketball   Josie Salyer   Mount Carmel, Tenn.
Cheerleading   Allison Perkins   Wytheville, Va.
Men's Cross Country   Colt Pierce   Lockhart, Texas
Women's Cross Country   Erica Grupp   Crozet, Va.
Dance   Lauren Naff   Callaway, Va.
Equestrian   Cara Brooks   Suwanee, Ga.
Football   Staymon Johnson   Pilot Mountain, N.C.
Men's Golf   Luke Montalbano   Rumford, R.I.
Women's Golf   Chandler Thomas   Elizabethton, Tenn.
Men's Soccer   Peyton Williams   Christiansburg, Va.
Women's Soccer   Isabel Swafford   Cleveland, Tenn.
Softball   Kendall Varner   Bassett, Va.
Women's Swimming   Lauren Trotter   Bristol, Va.
Men's Tennis   Staymon Johnson    Pilot Mountain, N.C.
Men's Track & Field   Conor White   Warrenton, Va.


Additionally, Emory & Henry has the tradition of further recognizing the highest GPA for men and women. This year's women's winner is women's soccer junior Isabel Swafford (Cleveland, Tenn.). This year's men's winner is football/men's tennis senior Staymon Johnson (Pilot Mountain, N.C.).

With the conclusion of the 2019-20 academic year, there are several other academic awards which will be announced by Emory & Henry, the Old Dominion Athletic Conference, the Virginia Sports Information Directors and the several national coaches' associations.