Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Emory & Henry Women’s Basketball Ranked Sixth In The South Region

2020 Division III Women's Basketball Champ graphic on top of a

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – The Emory & Henry College Women's Basketball team is the number six ranked program in the NCAA Division III South Region, NCAA officials announced Wednesday. These are the first rankings of the 2019-20 season which will help determine the 64-team field for March's NCAA Division III Tournament.

E&H is the only program in the Old Dominion Athletic Conference to be listed as one of the top nine squads in the South. It is the 11th-straight period that the Wasps have been ranked in the Region and the 14th time dating back to the 2015-16 season. This ranking, combined with automatic bids awarded to conference champions, is the official means of selecting and pairing participants for NCAA postseason tournaments.

RELATED – NCAA Division III South Region Rankings

Emory & Henry (17-4, 11-3 ODAC) sits in third place in the ODAC with four games remaining and still has the opportunity to clinch the #1 seed for the league tournament later this month. The Wasps hold the honor of handing the top-ranked team in the South (Oglethorpe University) its only loss of the year, a 77-61, decision in November.

Oglethorpe (23-1) leads the way while the Trinity (Texas) University is No. 2 and William Peace University is third. Ranked fourth this week is the University of Texas-Dallas while the University of Mary Hardin-Baylor is fifth. Emory University, Hardin-Simmons University and East Texas Baptist University round out the rankings.

Emory & Henry will host Roanoke College on Wednesday evening at 7:00 p.m. The contest will also serve as the Wasps' annual Play4Kay Game promoting the Kay Yow Cancer Fund.


NCAA Division III Women's Basketball
South Region Rankings 

1.  Oglethorpe
2.  Trinity (Texas)                                  
3.  William Peace
4.  Texas-Dallas
5.  Mary Hardin-Baylor
6.  Emory & Henry *
7.  Emory                                           
8.  Hardin-Simmons
9.  East Texas Baptist

* denotes Old Dominion Athletic Conference school